Manchester United's David De Gea has been named in the PFA 2016/17 Team of the Year.

The Spain no.1 has been judged as the best goalkeeper in the top flight by his peers for the third season in succession and the fourth time in the past five campaigns.

After beating off competition from the likes of Tottenham's Hugo Lloris and Chelsea's Thibaut Courtois, it is yet another accolade for the Reds star.

Despite Zlatan Ibrahimovic making the six-man shortlist for the main PFA Players' Player of the Year trophy, he misses out due to a 4-4-2 formation being selected with Tottenham's Harry Kane and Everton marksman Romelu Lukaku collecting more votes to take their place in the line-up.

De Gea has won the last three Manchester United Player of the Year awards but faces stiff competition next month to retain the Sir Matt Busby trophy.

PFA Premier League Team of the Year: David De Gea (United); Kyle Walker (Tottenham), David Luiz (Chelsea), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Danny Rose (Tottenham); Sadio Mane (Liverpool), Dele Alli (Tottenham), N'Golo Kante (Chelsea), Eden Hazard (Chelsea); Harry Kane (Tottenham), Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea).

The PFA awards ceremony takes place in London on Sunday 23 April.

Press release distributed by Pressat on behalf of Pressat Wire, on Thursday 20 April, 2017. For more information subscribe and follow

Published By

Pressat Wire

Pressat Wire

Alison Lancaster

Visit Newsroom


No media attached. Please contact Pressat Wire for more information.

Additional PR Formats