pressat 🖪

UN Secretary-General Appoints 12 New Members to the United Nations University Council

Thursday 28 April, 2016

28 April 2016 ? The United Nations University (UNU) is pleased to announce the appointment of 12 new members to the governing United Nations University Council. The new appointees, who will take office as of 3 May, replace the retiring 2010–2016 cohort of UNU Council members.

In accordance with Article IV of the UNU Charter, the new UNU Council members were appointed jointly by United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon and UNESCO Director-General Irina Bokova.

The main functions of the Council are, inter alia, to formulate the principles and policies of UNU, govern its operations, and consider and approve the UNU biennial work programme and budget.

The 12 new members of the UNU Council are:

- Prof. Ernest Aryeetey (Ghana), Vice-Chancellor, University of Ghana
- Prof. Carlos Henrique de Brito Cruz (Brazil), Scientific Director, São Paulo Research Foundation (FAPESP), and Professor, Gleb Wataghin Physics Institute, State University of Campinas
- Prof. Simon Chesterman (Australia), Dean, Faculty of Law, National University of Singapore
- Amb. Elizabeth Cousens (USA), Deputy Chief Executive Officer, United Nations Foundation
- Ms. Isabel Guerrero Pulgar (Chile), Director, IMAGO Global Grassroots, and lecturer at Harvard and MIT
- Mag. Dr h.c. Angela Kane (Germany), Senior Fellow, Vienna Centre for Non-Proliferation and Disarmament, and Professor, Sciences Po, Paris
- **Dr Segenet Kelemu** (Ethiopia), Director General and CEO, International Centre of Insect Physiology and Ecology
- Dr Bassma Kodmani (Syria), Executive Director, Arab Reform Initiative
- Dr Radha Kumar (India), Director General, Delhi Policy Group
- Prof. Irena Lipowicz (Poland), Professor, Cardinal Stefan Wyszy?ski University (Warsaw)
- **Prof. Tsuneo Nishida** (Japan), Director, Institute for Peace Science, Hiroshima University, and Director, Toho Zinc Co., Ltd.
- **Prof. Lan Xue** (China), Dean, School of Public Policy and Management, Tsinghua University, and Director, China Institute for S&T Policy

Appointed members of the UNU Council serve in an individual capacity ? not as representatives of their country's government. They are selected with an eye to achieving a geographic and gender balance, with due regard to major academic, scientific, educational, and cultural trends as well as each member's field(s) of expertise.

The UNU Council comprises 16 members: the 12 appointed members, the UNU Rector, and three ex officio members: the Secretary-General of the United Nations, the Director-General of UNESCO, and the Executive Director of UNITAR.

The next (65th) session of the Council will convene in Vienna on 3–4 May 2016. For profiles of current (and former) Council members, see <u>unu.edu/about/unu-council</u>.

Journalists who would like more information about the UNU Council or wish to request an interview with any of the new UNU Council members may contact UNU PR Coordinator Junko Nishikawa (+81 3 5467-1298, nishikawa@unu.edu).

Media:

Related

Sectors:

Charities & non-profits :: Education & Human Resources :: Government ::

Related Keywords:

United Nations :: United Nations University :: Think Tank :: Ban Ki-Moon :: Irina Bokova ::

Scan Me:



pressat 🖪

Company Contact:

United Nations University

T. +81 3 5467 1212

E. <u>sean.wood@unu.edu</u> W. <u>https://unu.edu</u>

View Online

Additional Assets:

Newsroom: Visit our Newsroom for all the latest stories: <u>https://www.unu.pressat.co.uk</u>