pressat 🖪

Turner Prize 2014 Winner Announcement

Tuesday 2 December, 2014

Duncan Campbell wins the Turner Prize 2014

The Turner Prize 2014 has been awarded to Duncan Campbell, it was announced at Tate Britain this evening during a live broadcast on Channel 4. The £25,000 prize was presented by British actor Chiwetel Ejiofor. This year is the 30th Turner Prize, founded in 1984 to promote discussion of new developments in contemporary British art. This year's prize fund is £40,000 with £25,000 going to the winner and £5,000 each for the other shortlisted artists.

The jury applauded the four nominated artists' commitment and the strengths of their artistic practices. They awarded the prize to Duncan Campbell for It For Others 2013 in recognition of an ambitious and complex film which rewards repeated viewing. The jury admired his exceptional dedication to making a work which speaks about the construction of value and meaning in ways that are topical and compelling.

Ends

Notes to Editors:

The Turner Prize 2014, established in 1984, is awarded to a British artist under fifty for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the twelve months preceding 17 April 2014. The term British applies to all artists working in the United Kingdom and to British-born artists who may be working abroad. The Prize is intended to promote public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art and is widely recognised as one of the most important and prestigious awards for the visual arts in Europe. The shortlisted artists for 2014 areDuncan Campbell, Ciara Phillips, James Richards and Tris Vonna-Michell.

The members of the Turner Prize 2014 Jury were:

Dirk Snauwaert, Artistic Director, Wiels, Brussels

Stefan Kalmár, Executive Director and Curator, Artists Space, New York

Helen Legg, Director, Spikelsland, Bristol

Sarah McCrory, Director, Glasgow International

The jury is chaired by Penelope Curtis, Director of Tate Britain.

Chiwetel Ejiofor is particularly known for his roles in Dirty Pretty Things 2002, Serenity 2005, Kinky Boots 2005, Children of Men 2006 and 2012 2009. Most recently Ejiofor received Academy Award and Golden Globe nominations and the BAFTA Award for Best Actor for his portrayal of Solomon Northup in 12 Years a Slave 2013 directed by Steve McQueen, who won the Turner Prize in 1999. Ejiofor's numerous awards and nominations also include the BAFTA Orange Rising Star Award in 2006 and the Laurence Olivier Award for Best Actor for his performance in Othello in 2008.

Chiwetel Ejiofor said: "I am delighted and honoured to be presenting this year's Turner Prize. For thirty years this prestigious award has represented, in its winners and nominees alike, extraordinary artistic endeavour that has delighted, challenged and inspired fellow artists and lovers of art across the globe."

The exhibition of the four shortlisted artists is at Tate Britain until 4 January 2015.

Previous winners are: 1984 Malcolm Morley; 1985 Howard Hodgkin; 1986 Gilbert & George; 1987 Richard Deacon; 1988 Tony Cragg; 1989 Richard Long; 1990 (Prize suspended); 1991 Anish Kapoor; 1992 Grenville Davey; 1993 Rachel Whiteread; 1994 Antony Gormley; 1995 Damien Hirst; 1996 Douglas Gordon; 1997 Gillian Wearing; 1998 Chris Ofili; 1999 Steve McQueen; 2000 Wolfgang Tillmans; 2001 Martin Creed; 2002 Keith Tyson; 2003 Grayson Perry; 2004 Jeremy Deller; 2005 Simon Starling; 2006 Tomma Abts; 2007 Mark Wallinger; 2008 Mark Leckey; 2009 Richard Wright; 2010 Susan Philipsz ; 2011 Martin Boyce; 2012 Elizabeth Price; 2013 Laure Prouvost.

Press Contact:

Media:



Related Sectors:

Entertainment & Arts ::

Related Keywords:

Turner Prize ::

Scan Me:



pressat 🖪

For press information contact Jeanette Ward, Tate Press Office

jeanette.ward@tate.org.uk +44(0)20 7887 8730 www.tate.org.uk/press

pressat 🖪

Company Contact:

Pressat Wire

E. support[@]pressat.co.uk

View Online

Additional Assets:

Newsroom: Visit our Newsroom for all the latest stories: <u>https://www.wire.pressat.co.uk</u>